2013 Shortlist

See also 2014 Shortlist.

International Shortlist | Canadian Shortlist | Anthology | Photo Gallery

Click any book title to purchase that book online.
Click a poet’s name or picture for biographies, judges’ citations and poetry excerpts.

International Shortlist

International Winner
Book: Like a Straw Bird It Follows Me, and Other Poems
Translator: Fady Joudah
Poet: Ghassan Zaqtan
Publisher: Yale University Press
Book: Liquid Nitrogen
Poet: Jennifer Maiden
Publisher: Giramondo Publishing
Book: Night of the Republic
Poet: Alan Shapiro
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Book: Our Andromeda
Poet: Brenda Shaughnessy
Publisher: Copper Canyon Press

Back to top

Canadian Shortlist

Canadian Winner
Book: What’s the Score?
Poet: David McFadden
Publisher: Mansfield Press
Book: Sailing to Babylon
Poet: James Pollock
Publisher: Able Muse Press
Book: Personals
Poet: Ian Williams
Publisher: Freehand Books

Back to top

Griffin Poetry Prize 2013 Anthology

The Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology 2013
Edited by Suzanne Buffam
House of Anansi Press

Royalties from The Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology will be donated to UNESCO’s World Poetry Day, created to support linguistic diversity through poetic expression, and to offer endangered languages the opportunities to be heard in their communities.

Griffin Poetry Prize 2013 Photo Gallery

Fady Joudah, Ghassan Zaqtan, Scott Griffin
Ian Williams, Scott Griffin
Ian Williams, Krystyne Griffin, Jim Johnstone
Merlin Homer, David McFadden
Alan Shapiro, Callie Warner, Scott Griffin
Perry Kane, Kyla Kane
Felix Atinkut Pollock-Stipe, Irene Pollock, James Pollock, Ruth Smith, Stormy Stipe
Blaine Newton, Leslie Greentree
Dr. Alberto Darszon, Pura Lopez Colome, Robert Hass
Alexander Pepple, James Pollock, June Dickenson
Michael Ondaatje
Brenda Shaughnessy, David Young
Merlin Homer, David McFadden, Frank Buffam, Suzanne Buffam
June Dickenson, Ruth Smith
Ben McNally, Lynn Thomson, Yeats McNally
Scott Griffin
Wang Ping
Fady Joudah, Ghassan Zaqtan
Suzanne Buffam
Leslie Greentree (reading for Jennifer Maiden)
Mark Doty
Alan Shapiro
Brenda Shaughnessy
David McFadden
James Pollock
James Pollock
Ian Williams
Scott Griffin
Brenda Shaughnessy
Ian Williams
James Pollock, Alan Shapiro, Brenda Shaughnessy
Stan Bevington, Graeme Gibson
Joy von Tiedemann, Florence Richler
Susan Crammond, Bernie Lucht
Krystyne and Scott Griffin
Paul Dempsey, Joy von Tiedemann
Ruth Smith
Liz Howard, Jacob Scheier
Heidi Waechtler, Alana Wilcox
Scott Griffin, Peter Tolnai
Michael Ondaatje
Priscila Uppal
Robert Hass, Krystyne and Scott Griffin
Brenda Shaughnessy, Alan Shapiro
Catherine and Bill Graham
Scott and Krystyne Griffin
Susan Swan, Patrick Crean
Paige Cooper, Jeramy Dodds
Leslie Lester, Albert Schultz
Laura Repas, Alexandra Rockingham, Michael Helm
Robert Dales, Johanne Blais
Kate Murdoch, Reg Beatty, Don Taylor
Leon Rooke, Fran Hill
Libby Znaimer, Douglas Goold
Grace Ganan, McLean Greaves, Krystyne and Scott Griffin
Scott and Krystyne Griffin
Louise Dennys, Avie Bennett, Ric Young
Leslie Greentree, Blaine Newton
Suzanne Zelazo, Christian Bok
Pierre McAlpine, Shannon Bowie
Erin Balser, Mark Medley
Gordon and Irene Pollock
Leslie Sanders, Dionne Brand
Dr. Izzeldin Abuelaish, Liz Marshall, Doug Kaye, Pat Pidgeon
Conrad Black
Srikanth Reddy, Suzanne Buffam, Frank Buffam
Ghassan Zaqtan, Fady Joudah
Prudence Emery, Ruth Smith
Charles Foran, Krystyne and Scott Griffin
Kyla Kane
Douglas Gibson, Jane Brenneman Gibson
Samara Walbohm, Joanne Saul, Margaret Atwood
Jess Atwood Gibson, Margaret Atwood
Cris Costa, Sean Cranbury
Bernard Gauthier, KJ Mullins
Peter La Mantia, Jane La Mantia, Adam de Pencier
Rudyard Griffiths, Jennifer Lambert, Jenny Bradshaw
Alexander Pepple, Kyla Kane, Lindsay Cornish, Pierre McAlpine
Matt Williams, Michael Winter, Michael Redhill
Pat Pidgeon. Liz Marshall, Doug Kaye
Ghassan Zaqtan, Gabriel Safdie
Ghassan Zaqtan, Adrienne Clarkson
Ian Williams, Brenda Shaughnessy
Scott Griffin
Robert Hass
Poetry in Voice champion Kyla Kane
Pura López-Colomé
Ghassan Zaqtan, Fady Joudah
Ghassan Zaqtan, Fady Joudah
Ghassan Zaqtan
Mark Doty
Scott Griffin, David McFadden
Scott Griffin, Fady Joudah, Ghassan Zaqtan
Scott Griffin, David McFadden
Merlin Homer, David McFadden
Stuart Ross, David McFadden, Merlin Homer, James Pollock
Fady Joudah, Ghassan Zaqtan, Scott Griffin, David McFadden
Fady Joudah, Ghassan Zaqtan, Scott Griffin, David McFadden
Doug Knight, Patrick Crean
Marian Botsford Fraser, Jane Urquhart, Martin Levin
Nicola Makoway, Ellen Seligman, Lynn Henry
Virginia Griffin, Peter Tolnai
Kelly Joseph, Jolise Beaton, Lonny Knapp
Anna Porter, Margaret Atwood, Rudyard Griffiths
Suzanne Buffam, Michael Ondaatje, Srikanth Reddy
Liisa House, Kyla Kane, Lindsay Cornish
Scott Griffin, Chloe Griffin
previous arrowprevious arrow
next arrownext arrow

Please contact webmaster@griffinpoetryprize.com if we have missed anyone’s names in picture captions. Thank you!

Photo credits: Tom Sandler Photography

Back to top

See also 2012 Shortlist.

2 Replies to “2013 Shortlist”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.