2019 Shortlist

International Shortlist | Canadian Shortlist | Anthology | Photo Gallery

Click any book title to purchase that book online.
Click a poet’s name or picture for biographies, judges’ citations and poetry excerpts.

Announcing the 2019 Griffin Poetry Prize Shortlist

International Shortlist

The Perseverance by Raymond Antrobus Book: The Perseverance
Poet: Raymond Antrobus
Publisher: Penned in the Margins
Lake Michigan by Daniel Borzutzky Book: Lake Michigan
Poet: Daniel Borzutzky
Publisher: University of Pittsburgh Press
Autobiography of Death, by Don Mee Choi, translated from the Korean written by Kim Hyesoon International Winner
Book: Autobiography of Death
Translator: Don Mee Choi
Poet: Kim Hyesoon
Publisher: New Directions
Negative Space, by Ani Gjika, translated from the Albanian written by Luljeta Lleshanaku Book: Negative Space
Translator: Ani Gjika
Poet: Luljeta Lleshanaku
Publisher: Bloodaxe Books
Back to top

Canadian Shortlist

The Blue Clerk by Dionne Brand Book: The Blue Clerk
Poet: Dionne Brand
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Quarrels by Eve Joseph Canadian Winner
Book: Quarrels
Poet: Eve Joseph
Publisher: Anvil Press
The Art of Dying by Sarah Tolmie Book: The Art of Dying
Poet: Sarah Tolmie
Publisher: McGill-Queen’s University Press
Back to top


The Griffin Poetry Prize 2019 Anthology

Edited by Kim Maltman

House of Anansi Press

Each year The Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology features the work of the extraordinary poets shortlisted for the awards and introduces us to some of the finest poems in their collections.

The 2019 Griffin Poetry Prize anthology has been released in print and digital braille versions. Learn more from House of Anansi Press and the National Network for Equitable Library Service (NNELS).

Back to top

Griffin Poetry Prize 2019 Photo Gallery

Peter LaMantia, Krystyne Griffin, Kai McCall
Scott Straker (center) with William (left) and Lucianna (right)
David Young, Louise Dennys
Tessa Griffin, Lindsay Cornish and David Smith of Poetry In Voice/Les voix de la poésie
Scott Griffin, 2019 Griffin Poetry Prize shortlisted poets
Srikanth Reddy
Raymond Antrobus
Ulrikka Gernes
Luljeta Lleshanaku, Ani Gjika
Kim Maltman
Daniel Borzutzky
Kim Hyesoon, Don Mee Choi
Carolyn Forché
Nicole Brossard
Eve Joseph
Sarah Tolmie
Dionne Brand
Dionne Brand
Ulrikka Gernes, Suzanne Buffam, Srikanth Reddy
Eve Joseph, Dionne Brand, Raymond Antrobus
Sarah Tolmie, Luljeta Lleshanaku, Ani Gjika
Sarah Tolmie, Nicole Brossard, Raymond Antrobus
Sarah Tolmie
Front row (left to right) Ani Gjika, Luljeta Lleshanaku, Eve Joseph, Nicole Brossard, Kim Hyesoon, Don Mee Choi / Back row (left to right) Sarah Tolmie, Dionne Brand, Scott Griffin, Kim Maltman, Ulrikka Gernes, Raymond Antrobus, Daniel Borzutzky and Srikanth Reddy
Scott and Krystyne Griffin
Maureen Scott Harris, Jane Munro, Kitty McKay Lewis
André Alexis, Catherine Bush
Dionne Brand, Christina Sharpe
Eleanor Wachtel, Gabriel Safdie
Joe Fiorito, Susan Mahoney
Nicole Brossard, Marisa Zavalloni, Ulrikka Gernes, Karen Solie
Lucianna, William and Scott Straker, Sarah Tolmie, Marek Kazmierski
Srikanth Reddy, Suzanne Buffam, Ronna Bloom
Lorenzo and Daniel Borzutzky, Rachel Galvin
Carlos and Silvia Borzutzky
Jeanette Lynes, Catherine Graham
Scott Straker, Sarah Tolmie
Srikanth Reddy, Suzanne Buffam, Lorenzo Borzutzky, Rachel Galvin, Daniel Borzutzky
Rosemary Sullivan, Jane Urquhart
Bianca Spence, Paul Vermeersch, Jeremy Leipert, Natalee Caple
Ken Babstock
Kenneth and Catricia Hiebert
Lynn Thomson, Ben McNally
Karen Solie, Krystyne Griffin, Louise Dennys
Stan Bevington, Lynn Thomson
Michael Ondaatje, Alana Wilcox
Debra Foldi, Mike Laidlaw
Kim Simpson, Thaddeus Romer, Michou Caron
Kirby, Hoa Nguyen
Carolyn Smart, Sarah Tolmie
Raymond Antrobus, Michael Ondaatje, Adam Sol
Ruth Smith, Melissa Shirley, Jessica Cooney
Shirley Blumberg, Scott Thornley, Krystyne Griffin
Krystyne Griffin, Thaddeus Romer
Lois Lorimer, Catherine Graham, A.F. Moritz, Kate Marshall Flaherty
Christine Pountney, Michael Winter
Srikanth Reddy
Raymond Antrobus, Michael Ondaatje
Dionne Brand
Scott Griffin
Catricia Hiebert
Nicole Brossard
Ulrikka Gernes
2019 International Griffin Poetry Prize winners Don Mee Choi and Kim Hyesoon
Kim Hyesoon, Don Mee Choi
Scott Griffin, Kim Hyesoon, Don Mee Choi
2019 Canadian Griffin Poetry Prize winner Eve Joseph
Scott Griffin, Eve Joseph
Scott Griffin, Eve Joseph
Don Mee Choi, Kim Hyesoon, Scott Griffin, Eve Joseph
Adrienne Clarkson, Nicole Brossard, John Ralston Saul
Nicole Brossard, Marisa Zavalloni, Krystyne Griffin, Scott Griffin
James Murphy, Merilee Olson
Jane Munro, Scott Griffin, Maureen Scott Harris, David O'Meara
Susan Glickman, Adam Dickinson
Lois Lorimer, Ronna Bloom, Catherine Graham, Kate Marshall Flaherty, Jeanette Lynes
Libby Znaimer, Douglas Goold
Ruth Scott, Louise Kerr
Mark Doty, Molly Peacock
Colin O'Connor, Patrick Friesen, Eve Joseph, Jen Ball
Dionne Brand
Suzanne Buffam, Srikanth Reddy, Bianca Spence, Paul Vermeersch
Amanda Withers, Michael Redhill, Laurie Graham, Elizabeth Johnston
David Smith, Raymond Antrobus, Ulrikka Gernes, Liisa House
Canisia Lubrin, Samantha Haywood
Carmine Starnino, Michael Winter, Jennifer Varkonyi, Susan Glickman
Dionne Brand, Catricia Hiebert
Joy von Tiedemann, Janusz Dukzsta
Madhur Anand, Ulrikka Gernes
Anne Michaels, James Polk
Eve Joseph, Patrick Friesen
Michou Caron, Thaddeus Romer, Krystyne Griffin, Kalliope McCall
Lynn Thomson, Janie Yoon, Lynn Henry
Jeffrey Yang, Fi Jae Lee, Kim Hyesoon
Karen Green, Brian Kaufman
previous arrowprevious arrow
next arrownext arrow

Please contact webmaster@griffinpoetryprize.com if we have missed anyone’s names in picture captions. Thank you!

Photo credits: Tom Sandler Photography

Back to top

Photo credits:
Raymond Antrobus, by Tenee Attoh
Dionne Brand, by Jason Chow

See also 2018 Shortlist.