2017 Shortlist

See also 2018 Shortlist.

International Shortlist | Canadian Shortlist | Anthology | Photo Gallery

Click any book title to purchase that book online.
Click a poet’s name or picture for biographies, judges’ citations and poetry excerpts.

Announcing the 2017 Griffin Poetry Prize Shortlist

International Shortlist

World of Made and Unmade, by Jane Mead Book: World of Made and Unmade
Poet: Jane Mead
Publisher: Alice James Books
In Praise of Defeat, by Donald Nicholson-Smith, translated from the French written by Abdellatif Laâbi Book: In Praise of Defeat
Translator: Donald Nicholson-Smith
Poet: Abdellatif Laâbi
Publisher: Archipelago Books
Falling Awake, by Alice Oswald International Winner
Book: Falling Awake
Poet: Alice Oswald
Publisher: Jonathan Cape/W.W. Norton & Company
Say Something Back, by Denise Riley Book: Say Something Back
Poet: Denise Riley
Publisher: Picador
Back to top

Canadian Shortlist

Injun, by Jordan Abel Canadian Winner
Book: Injun
Poet: Jordan Abel
Publisher: Talonbooks
Violet Energy Ingots, by Hoa Nguyen Book: Violet Energy Ingots
Poet: Hoa Nguyen
Publisher: Wave Books
Silvija, by Sandra Ridley Book: Silvija
Poet: Sandra Ridley
Publisher: BookThug
Back to top


The Griffin Poetry Prize 2017 Anthology

Edited by Sue Goyette

House of Anansi Press

Royalties from The Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology will be donated to UNESCO’s World Poetry Day, created to support linguistic diversity through poetic expression, and to offer endangered languages the opportunities to be heard in their communities.

Back to top

Griffin Poetry Prize 2017 Photo Gallery

Jordan Abel, Erin Soros
Dale Smith, Hoa Nguyen, Tawny Andersen, Jeramy Dodds
David Young, George Szirtes
Joan Naviyuk Kane, George Szirtes, Sue Goyette
Abdellatif Laabi, Donald Nicholson-Smith
Erin Soros, Sandra Ridley
Jessica Cooney, Melissa Shirley
Mark Doty, Frank Bidart
Abdellatif Laabi
Sandra Ridley, Scott Griffin, Erin Soros
Jeramy Dodds, Tawny Andersen, Scott Griffin
Alice Oswald, John FitzGerald
Krystyne Griffin, Adrienne Clarkson
Frank Bidart
Sue Goyette, Scott Griffin, Joan Naviyuk Kane, George Szirtes
Michael Ondaatje, Hoa Nguyen
Donald Nicholson-Smith, Jill Schoolman
Scott Griffin
Scott Griffin
Sue Goyette
Jeramy Dodds (reading for Jane Mead)
George Szirtes
Abdellatif Laabi
Donald Nicholson-Smith
Joan Naviyuk Kane
Alice Oswald
Erin Soros (reading for Denise Riley)
Mark Doty
Frank Bidart
Frank Bidart
Scott Griffin, Frank Bidart
Scott Griffin
Jordan Abel
Hoa Nguyen
Sue Goyette
Sandra Ridley
Jo Shapcott, Sandra Ridley, Hoa Nguyen, Jordan Abel
Front row (left to right): Frank Bidart, Erin Soros (who read for Denise Riley), Donald Nicholson-Smith, Abdellatif Laabi, Sandra Ridley - Back row (left to right): Jeramy Dodds (who read for Jane Mead), George Szirtes, Joan Naviyuk Kane, Sue Goyette, Hoa Nguyen, Scott Griffin, Alice Oswald, Jordan Abel
Hoa Nguyen, Jordan Abel, Sandra Ridley, Donald Nicholson-Smith
Hoa Nguyen
Alice Oswald
Scott Griffin
Joan Naviyuk Kane, Dale Smith, Hoa Nguyen
Alice Oswald and family
Christian Kemp-Griffin, Ruth Smith
Donald Nicholson-Smith, Mia Rublowska
Hoa Nguyen, Sonnet L'Abbe
Laurie Siblock, Stuart Ross
Jordan Abel, Chelsea Novak, Kevin Williams, Heidi Waechtler
Kylie Dyment, Ryan Murphy
Francine Prevost, Pierre Nepveu
Lois Lorimer, Kate Flaherty
Eric Romer, Bonnie Soutar, Chloe Griffin, Nick Romer, Mark Romer
John FitzGerald, George Szirtes
Mark and Melanie Romer
Albert Schultz, Carey Salerno
Joan Naviyuk Kane, Erin Soros
Adam Sol, Erin Knight, Adam Dickinson
Poetry in Voice competitors David White and Enzo Campa
Christian Kemp-Griffin, Scott Griffin
Chloe, Scott and Krystyne Griffin
Mark Doty, Frank Bidart, Scott Griffin
Jocelyne and Abdellatif Laabi
Abdellatif Laabi, Krystyne Griffin
Jordan Abel, Chelsea Novak
Susan Perly, Dennis Lee
Jane Brenneman Gibson, Douglas Gibson
Ben McNally, Lynn Thomson
Erin Soros
Christine McNair, Rob McLennan
Thaddeus Romer, Michou Caron
Alice Oswald, Scott Griffin, Jordan Abel
Liz Marshall, Susan G. Cole
Lois Lorimer, Catherine Graham, Susan Perly
previous arrowprevious arrow
next arrownext arrow

Please contact webmaster@griffinpoetryprize.com if we have missed anyone’s names in picture captions. Thank you!

Photo credits: Tom Sandler Photography

Back to top

Photo credits:
Alice Oswald, by Kate Mount
Sandra Ridley, by John W. Macdonald
Denise Riley, by Kevin Lake

See also 2016 Shortlist.