2012 Shortlist

See also 2013 Shortlist.

International Shortlist | Canadian Shortlist | Anthology | Photo Gallery

Click any book title to purchase that book online.
Click a poet’s name or picture for biographies, judges’ citations and poetry excerpts.

International Shortlist

International Winner
Book: Night
Poet: David Harsent
Publisher: Faber and Faber
Book: The Chameleon Couch
Poet: Yusef Komunyakaa
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Book: November
Poet: Sean O’Brien
Publisher: Picador
Book: Sobbing Superpower: Selected Poems of Tadeusz Różewicz
Translator: Joanna Trzeciak
Poet: Tadeusz Różewicz
Publisher: W.W. Norton & Company

Back to top

Canadian Shortlist

Canadian Winner
Book: Methodist Hatchet
Poet: Ken Babstock
Publisher: House of Anansi Press
Book: Killdeer
Poet: Phil Hall
Publisher: BookThug
Book: Forge
Poet: Jan Zwicky
Publisher: Gaspereau Press

Back to top

Griffin Poetry Prize 2012 Anthology

The Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology 2012
Edited by David O’Meara
House of Anansi Press
Royalties from The Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology will be donated to UNESCO’s World Poetry Day, created to support linguistic diversity through poetic expression, and to offer endangered languages the opportunities to be heard in their communities.

Back to top

Griffin Poetry Prize 2012 Photo Gallery

Krystyne Griffin, Heather McHugh, Yusef Komunyakaa
Scott Griffin, Robert Hass
Kara Springer, Christian Campbell, Yusef Komunyakaa
Jan Zwicky, Robert Bringhurst, Robert Hass
Margaret Atwood, Robin Robertson
David O'Meara, Charmaine Tierney, Matthew Tierney, Dorothy Jeffreys
Robert Bringhurst, Seamus Heaney, Ruth Smith
Fiona Sampson, Scott Griffin, David Harsent, Sean O'Brien, Simon Harsent
Dorothy Jeffreys, David O'Meara, Linda Spalding
Robert Bringhurst, Phil Hall
Ken Babstock
Scott Griffin
Fiona Sampson
David Harsent
David O'Meara
Yusef Komunyakaa
Heather McHugh
Sean O'Brien
Joanna Trzeciak
Robin Robertson
Seamus Heaney, Scott Griffin, Robin Robertson
Seamus Heaney
Ken Babstock
Phil Hall
Jan Zwicky
David Harsent, Margaret Atwood
Front row (left to right) - Yusef Komunyakaa, Scott Griffin, Fiona Sampson, Heather McHugh / Back row (left to right) - Ken Babstock, Joanna Trzeciak, David O'Meara, David Harsent, Jan Zwicky, Phil Hall, Sean O'Brien
David Harsent, Yusef Komunyakaa, Sean O'Brien
Jan Zwicky
Florence Richler, Noah Richler, Seamus Heaney
Catherine Bush, Ken Babstock
Karen Solie, Christine Pountney, Laura Repas
Scott and Krystyne Griffin
Yusef Komunyakaa, Scott Griffin
Victoria Webster, Gabe Gonda, Krystyne Griffin
Jan Zwicky, Robert Bringhurst, Scott Griffin
Margaret Atwood, Liz Marshall, Pat Pidgeon, Doug Kaye
Jess Atwood Gibson, Graeme Gibson
Leslie Lester, Albert Schultz, Karen Solie, David Seymour
Richard Gwyn, Monte McMurchy
Seamus and Marie Heaney
Joanna Trzeciak, Christopher Doda, Priscila Uppal
Michael Ondaatje, Linda Spalding
Sinclair Russell, Ruth Smith
Adam Sol, Yael Splansky, Yusef Komunyakaa
Adrienne Clarkson, Joanna Trzeciak, Krystyne Griffin, John Huss
Sandra Ridley, George Murray, Elisabeth de Mariaffi
Conrad Black, Barbara Amiel, Scott Griffin
Mike Belitsky, Damian Rogers
Beatriz Hausner, Robin Kay, Krystyne Griffin
Scott Griffin
Poetry in Voice winner Alexander Gagliano
Seamus Heaney
David O'Meara
David Harsent
David Harsent
Fiona Sampson
Ken Babstock, Laura Repas
Ken Babstock
Ken Babstock
David Harsent, Scott Griffin, Ken Babstock
David Harsent, David Bale
Domenica, Alexander and Frank Gagliano
Susan Swan, Samantha Haywood, George Murray
Dionne Brand, Geoffrey Taylor, Leslie Sanders
Rick Rowe, Ruth Smith
Alana Wilcox, Laura Repas
Charlie Huisken, Liz Howard, Jacob Scheier
Ellen Seligman, Christopher Doda, Camilla Gibb
Sacha Douglas, Bill Douglas, Erinn Somerville
Gil Adamson, Kevin Connolly
Priscila Uppal, Douglas Gibson, Jane Brenneman Gibson
previous arrowprevious arrow
next arrownext arrow

Please contact webmaster@griffinpoetryprize.com if we have missed anyone’s names in picture captions. Thank you!

Photo credits: Tom Sandler Photography

Back to top

See also 2011 Shortlist.

One Reply to “2012 Shortlist”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.