The Griffin Poetry Prize Announces the 2020 International and Canadian Shortlist

TORONTO – April 7, 2020 – Scott Griffin, on behalf of the trustees of The Griffin Trust For Excellence In Poetry, is pleased to announce the International and Canadian shortlist for this year’s prize. Judges Paula Meehan (Ireland), Kei Miller (Jamaica/UK), and Hoa Nguyen (Canada) each read 572 books of poetry, from 14 countries, including 37 translations.

The two winners, to be announced via our social media channels (web site, Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram) on Tuesday, May 19, will each be awarded $65,000. The other finalists – 3 International, and 2 Canadian, will be awarded $10,000.

Announcing the Griffin Poetry Prize 2020 Shortlist

International Shortlist

How to Dress a Fish • Abigail Chabitnoy
Wesleyan University Press

Arias • Sharon Olds
Jonathan Cape and Alfred A. Knopf

Time • Sarah Riggs, translated from the French
written by Etel Adnan


Lima :: Limón • Natalie Scenters-Zapico
Copper Canyon Press

Canadian Shortlist

How She Read • Chantal Gibson
Caitlin Press

heft • Doyali Islam
McClelland & Stewart

Magnetic Equator • Kaie Kellough
McClelland & Stewart

Note to booksellers: Griffin Poetry Prize book stickers are supplied free of charge by The Griffin Trust. Contact to place an order. Winner book stickers will be available after May 19.

Please direct other inquiries as follows:

Media Inquiries:Melissa Shirley
Telephone: (647) 389-9510
General Inquiries:Ruth Smith, Executive Director
Telephone: (905) 618-0420

Shortlisted Publishers’ Web sites:

Alfred A. Knopf:

Caitlin Press:

Copper Canyon Press:

Jonathan Cape:

McClelland & Stewart:

Nightboat Books:

Wesleyan University Press:


Shortlist summary, poet bios and citations

Download press release, poet bios and citations | Download photos

Purchase 2020 Griffin Poetry Prize shortlisted books online

Return to the News Release index.

3 Replies to “The Griffin Poetry Prize Announces the 2020 International and Canadian Shortlist”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.