2008 Shortlist

See also 2009 Shortlist.

International Shortlist | Canadian Shortlist | Anthology | Photo Gallery

Click any book title to purchase that book online.
Click a poet’s name or picture for biographies, judges’ citations and poetry excerpts.

International Shortlist

book-ashbery International Winner
Book: Notes from the Air: Selected Later Poems
Poet: John Ashbery
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers/Ecco
book-equi Book: Ripple Effect: New and Selected Poems
Poet: Elaine Equi
Publisher: Coffee House Press
book-eshleman Book: The Complete Poetry: A Bilingual Edition
Translator: Clayton Eshleman
Poet: César Vallejo
Publisher: University of California Press
book-harsent Book: Selected Poems 1969-2005
Poet: David Harsent
Publisher: Faber and Faber

Back to top

Canadian Shortlist

book-blaser Canadian Winner
Book: The Holy Forest: Collected Poems of Robin Blaser
Poet: Robin Blaser

Publisher: University of California Press
book-majzels-moure Book: Notebook of Roses and Civilization
Translators: Robert Majzels and Erin Moure
Poet: Nicole Brossard
Publisher: Coach House Books
book-mcfadden Book: Why Are You So Sad? Selected Poems of David W. McFadden
Poet: David McFadden
Publisher: Insomniac Press/4 a.m. Books

Back to top

Griffin Poetry Prize 2008 Anthology

griffin2008-anthology The Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology 2008
Edited by George Bowering
House of Anansi PressRoyalties from The Griffin Poetry Prize Anthology will be donated to UNESCO?s World Poetry Day, created to support linguistic diversity through poetic expression, and to offer endangered languages the opportunities to be heard in their communities.

Back to top

Photo credits:
John Ashbery, by Lynn Davis
Elaine Equi, by Becket Logan
David Harsent, by Simon Harsent
Robin Blaser, by Joy von Tiedemann
Erin Moure, by Terence Byrnes
David McFadden, by Ingrid Paulson

Griffin Poetry Prize 2008 Photo Gallery

Erin Moure, Nicole Brossard, Robert Majzels
Ko Un
Nicole Brossard, George Bowering
George Bowering, Jean Baird
David McFadden
Alberto Darszon Israel, Scott Griffin, Pura Lopez Colome, Krystyne Griffin
Ko Un, Lee Sang-wha, Scott Griffin
Michael Ondaatje, David McFadden
Erin Moure, Robin Blaser
Ko Un
Jerome Sala, Elaine Equi
Scott Griffin, John Ashbery
James Lasdun, David Harsent, Robin Robertson
James Lasdun, Pura Lopez Colome, George Bowering
David Young, John Ashbery, Nicole Brossard, Michael Ondaatje
Susan Swan, Patrick Crean
Scott Griffin
Pura Lopez Colome
John Ashbery
John Ashbery
James Lasdun
Elaine Equi
George Bowering
Guillermo Verdecchia (reading for Clayton Eshleman and Cesar Vallejo)
David Harsent
Sarah MacLachlan, Krystyne Griffin, John Ralston Saul
Martha Butterfield, Kitty Griffin
Robert Hass
Scott Griffin, Ko Un
Ko Un
Robin Blaser
Robert Majzels, Nicole Brossard, Erin Moure
Nicole Brossard
Robert Majzels, Erin Moure, Nicole Brossard
David McFadden
Elaine Equi, Michael Ondaatje
Erin Moure, Michael Ondaatje
Front row (left to right) - Robin Blaser, Erin Moure, John Ashbery, Nicole Brossard, Pura Lopez Colome, David Harsent / Back row (left to right) - David McFadden, Guillermo Verdecchia, Robert Majzels, Elaine Equi, Scott Griffin, George Bowering, James Lasdun
Robin Blaser, David Farwell
Lee Sang-wha, Ko Un
Jerome Sala, Elaine Equi
Robert Majzels, Krystyne Griffin, Nicole Brossard
Scott and Krystyne Griffin
Clair Huot, Robert Majzels, Erin Moure
Robin Blaser
Linda Spalding, Robert Hass
Jane Urquhart, Nino Ricci, Erika de Vasconcelos
Douglas Gibson, Jane Brenneman-Gibson
Sophie McCall, David Chariandy
Louise Dennys, Ric Young, Krystyne Griffin
Sam Solecki, Sandra Martin, Geoffrey Taylor
Carol Bishop-Gwyn, Jack Rabinovitch, Richard Gwyn
Krystyne Griffin, Adrienne Clarkson, John Ralston Saul
Claudia Dey, Damian Rogers, Dina Del Bucchia, Jason Guriel
John Ashbery, Pura Lopez Colome
David Chariandy, Austin Clarke
Scott Griffin
Ko Un
Ko Un
Paul Farley
John Ashbery
John Ashbery, Scott Griffin
Robin Blaser, Scott Griffin
John Ashbery, Robin Blaser
John Ashbery, Scott Griffin, Robin Blaser
Adrienne Clarkson, Robin Blaser
Robin Blaser
Charlie Huisken, Stan Bevington
Kitty Lewis, Maureen Scott Harris
Paul Farley, David Harsent
George Bowering, Jean Baird
David McFadden
Degan Davis, Alison Pick
Ashley Madden, Daniel Smith, Ruth Smith
Stuart Ross
Paul Vermeersch, Christian Bok
Brenda Hillman, Michael Ondaatje, Pura Lopez Colome, Alberta Darszon Israel
Roo Borson, Ko Un
Phil Hall
Susan Glickman, Carolyn Smart, Maureen Scott Harris
Degan Davis, Karen Solie, Alison Pick, Charmaine Tierney, Matthew Tierney
Ian Brown, Johanna Schneller, Jack Rabinovitch
Theresa Moritz, A.F. Moritz, Susan Glickman
Nalini Stewart
Anne Michaels, Claire Weissman Wilks
Louise Dennys, Susan Coyne
David McFadden, Susan Swan
Adam Sol, Susan Glickman
Beatriz Hausner, Maureen Scott Harris, Patsy Aldana
David McFadden
Stuart Ross, Jason Guriel
Paul Farley
previous arrowprevious arrow
next arrownext arrow

Please contact webmaster@griffinpoetryprize.com if we have missed anyone’s names in picture captions. Thank you!

Photo credits: Tom Sandler Photography

Back to top

See also 2007 Shortlist.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.